Day 3 – 100 day photography challenge

On day 3 I was able to spend a good amount of the morning wandering around Palm Springs just playing with my camera. I got one image I really, really love, and a few others that I rather like. Because this is my blog and I can do what I want to, prepare to be subjected to my favorite 10 (in no particular order – except the best for last!)

IMG_6743I really wanted to capture the shadows of brown on the mountains juxtaposed agains the green and brown of the palm trees. I wasn’t certain the best way to do this, so I just shot a bunch. This is the one that turned out the best. I hate all the smog that mucks up the colors that I know are so vibrant, but I’m not ready to try my hand at photoshop to attempt to correct that.

 

 

IMG_6750Next is perhaps the best sign I saw on my trip. I like this photo because I just think it’s absurd that there’s a law against this behavior and because I just like the light reflecting off metal that both draws me into the text and pushes me away from it as well.

 

Then there was a series of pictures I took using my macro lens. The first set is a bush of pink and orange flowers I wish I could identify. This one has a certain understated glow about it. Even though the colors are muted, they are still vibrant. Plus being able to see the veining on the petals and leaves is always fun for me.

IMG_6777

IMG_6779This one has the opposite feeling. Everything is bright and cheery (slightly blurry) and it looks equally surreal. Both are backlit, I guess, but it’s the shading for both that gives them their mood.

 

 

 

 

The next two I like to look at against one another because they are from the same angle but the focal point is different.  I also had to crop them differently to remove some of the background distraction, so they aren’t a very good “pair.”
IMG_6786 IMG_6788

IMG_6797Finally there are three where I was trying to capture the interesting contrast of shade and intense light against a pot of succulents. The first of the three does that, sort of, but I think the framing to make either the succulents or the shadow on the pot interesting doesn’t work as well as it could.

 

IMG_6799The other two are again the result of me framing the picture just slightly differently with drastically different results. One is balanced so the extremely light is directly in the center of the image and only that petal is in clear focus. I really like the composition, but compared to the next one it just isn’t as strong.

 

 

 

This one is my favorite. So much so that I am planning to print it out to add to my wall as I decorate my new apartment. I like the tight framing of the succulent that is contrasted by the light and color in the background. The colors, and the red/green/yellow palette I find pleasing.Day 3 - Best

  1. #1 by Stephanie on May 11, 2014 - 8:16 pm

    Framing is NOT something that I’m very good at so good work! I think my favorite might be the orange and pink flowers, just because of the color combo.

    • #2 by e2d2 on May 11, 2014 - 8:17 pm

      The orange/pink color combo is what drew me in in the first place. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

